Western Canadian Deans' Agreement

This agreement was established in 1974 as an expression of cooperation and mutual support among universities offering Graduate programs in western Canada. Its primary purpose is the reciprocal enrichment of graduate programs throughout western Canada. This agreement is not intended to preclude other agreements between participating institutions.

The Western Deans' Agreement authorization form is available on the Western Canadian Deans of Graduate Studies (WCDGS) website.

Student returns completed form to the SGS office or emails it to sgs@uleth.ca.

Allows students to take undergraduate and graduate courses from member universities when courses are not offered at the home university

  • Students pay tuition (and general) fees at their home university
  • Students pay applicable student activity fees (general fees) at the host institution where they are taking courses
  • The period for which the fees are remitted does not exceed two academic terms of four months each


  • Courses must be an integral part of their graduate degree program
  • Must be obtained prior to commencement of the courses


  • Students must arrange for official transcripts from the host institution to be sent to the home institution when the courses have been completed.
  • Each home institution has regulations regarding the maximum number of transfer credits permitted; Students should ensure that their requests are within these limits

Participating Universities

  • British Columbia (Simon Fraser University, University of British Columbia, University of Northern British Columbia, University of Victoria, British Columbia Institute of Technology, Royal Roads University, Thompson Rivers University)
  • Alberta (Athabasca University, University of Alberta, University of Calgary, University of Lethbridge,Concordia University College of Alberta)
  • Saskatchewan (University of Regina, University of Saskatchewan)
  • Manitoba (Brandon University, University of Manitoba, University of Winnipeg)