Awards and funding

Excellence in Teaching Award

The University of Lethbridge Excellence in Teaching Award, formerly known as the Distinguished Teaching Award, was established in 1987 at the University of Lethbridge under the auspices of the President. The award is in recognition of the central importance of teaching to the philosophy and goals of the University of Lethbridge and to provide recognition to those members of the academic staff who excel in teaching.


Teaching Fellows

Teaching Fellows will be academic staff members with tenured, tenure-track or continuing appointments who have demonstrated both commitment to excellence in their own teaching and willingness to champion the importance of teaching development in the university community. 

University of Lethbridge Research Fund - SoTL Stream

The ULRF SoTL Stream is an internal source of funds directed toward the support of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning and administered by the Teaching Centre. The objective of the ULRF SoTL Stream is to help researchers secure external funding, by providing seed money for new projects and to launch a program of research. The ULRF SoTL Stream is not intended to provide on-going support through repeated applications or to supplement an on-going program of research. 

Board of Governors Teaching Chair

The Board of Governors Chair in Teaching is a two-year position (with two-course relief per year). Candidates apply through the office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic). As part of the application, candidates submit a teaching-related proposal for the duration of their term.

3M National Teaching Fellowship

Canada’s most prestigious university and college teaching award is not a prize but a fellowship which 10 nominees from across Canada are invited to join each year. The Fellowship emphasizes excellence in teaching and in educational leadership equally.

U of L 3M National Teaching Fellows:

Shelly Wismath, School of Liberal Education, Department of Mathematics & Computer Science, 2017

Patricia Chuchryk, Department of Sociology, 1999