All in-person classes on the Lethbridge and Calgary Campuses resume on Monday, September 20, 2021. Click here for details.

The University of Lethbridge Excellence in Teaching Award

Excellence in Teaching Award


University recognizes Findlay with 2021 Excellence in Teaching Award

Committed to providing her students with a positive, supportive learning environment, Dr. Susan Findlay of the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry has been named the recipient of the University of Lethbridge’s 2021 Excellence in Teaching Award.

Susan Findlay

Findlay is noted as a strong lecturer and inspiring leader within the department and was instrumental in getting course content online during the pandemic, becoming somewhat of a technical resource person for her colleagues in the process


The University of Lethbridge Excellence in Teaching Award, formerly known as the Distinguished Teaching Award, was established in 1987 at the University of Lethbridge under the auspices of the President. The award is in recognition of the central importance of teaching to the philosophy and goals of the University of Lethbridge and to provide recognition to those members of the academic staff who excel in teaching.


Please contact the administrator of this award at to have the appropriate file OneDrive folders set up for submission. Both nominees and nominators will have to contact the administrator. See the guidelines below for more information.


Excellence in Teaching Award Guidelines

Nomination Deadline

Please forward nominations by February 1st to

The Excellence in Teaching Award Selection Committee

The University of Lethbridge

Teaching Centre  

Nominations that are incomplete as of the February 1st deadline will be returned to the nominator.

Excellence in Teaching Award Nomination Form

Complete Submission Deadline

March 12, 2021, at 4:00 P.M.

Notifications of application completion by the nominees can be sent to - Attention: Excellence in Teaching Award Committee. 

Past Winners

List of past Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients_2020  PDF icon [PDF]