Alberta Gambling Research Institute

NOTE: The deadline for this award has passed (May 1, 2023)

Award Quick Look

Deadline: Monday, May 1, 2023

Amount: 20,000

Student Status: Full Time

Type: External


  • Canadian
  • International
  • Permanent Resident


  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Counselling
  • Master of Science


  • School of Graduate Studies


The purpose of the scholarship awards is to accelerate the development of high quality gambling research capacity in Alberta.   


The guiding mission of the Institute is to facilitate evidence-based broad research that informs gambling public policy and educates Albertans and the wider audience about the effects of gambling.

For an overview of AGRI’s range of research-related programs, conferences, grant options, and funded research projects, visit the AGRI website.


1. Graduate (MA/MSc) – maximum $20,000 for one year, renewable for an additional year, plus a one-time $3,000 research allowance

2. Doctoral (PhD) – maximum of $30,000/year for up to four years, renewable annually (dependent on research accomplishment), plus a one-time $5,000 research allowance; assistance will be made available by senior Institute researchers to develop grant proposals for both Institute funding as well as other agency funding

3. ”Top-up” – Both graduate and doctoral students are eligible to receive ‘top-up’ amounts of $10,000 or $15,000, respectively, if they have been granted another major, same amount or greater, award (e.g. SSHRC, CIHR, AIHS, etc.) for the same academic terms

All scholarship awardees receive the additional expense costs related to attendance and participation (either conference presentation or poster presentation) in the Institute’s annual conference held in March or April.


  • Open to Canadian, permanent residents and international students
  • Masters or PhD student completing a full-time thesis-based program.
  • Research must fall under one or more of the AGRI's identified priorities:

I. Public policy and safe gambling strategy
II. Indigenous/First Nations gambling including impact of trauma
III. Longitudinal research
IV. Internet/remote gambling
V. Treatment including the effect of stigma
VI. Socio-economics/Economics

  • Candidates may concurrently hold other major external awards ($20,000 or over for master’s level and $30,000 or over for doctoral level), however, the scholarship award amounts will be reduced to the ‘top-up’ amounts indicated below. Current scholarship holders may re-apply provided an additional scholarship would not extend support received from AGRI beyond a maximum of two years for a master’s candidate or four years for a doctoral candidate



Applications instructions and forms are found on the AGRI website.
Completed applications are to be emailed directly to the Agency and CC the Graduate Funding Facilitator on the email submission.