Senate Scholarship Fund

The Senate Scholarship fund was formally established in January 2007 by then Chancellor Shirley DeBow, to commemorate the 40th Anniversary of the University of Lethbridge. The goal at the time was to create one new student award by establishing an endowment, funded through gifts made by University Senators.

This award, defined and inspired by our founding principle of liberal education, encourages academic excellence and rewards students who volunteer in their communities. This money is a direct investment in students and a phenomenal demonstration of the U of L Senate's commitment to supporting the next generation of leaders.

In recognition of the UofL's 50th Anniversary, the Senate recommitted to the Senate Fund with the goal of funding an additional scholarship in perpetuity.  In 2017 Senators overtook the student-run Call Centre, in both spring and fall, picked up the phones and reconnected with many former Senators.  The original goal was far surpassed and Senators raised over $63,000.  This will allow for 8 students to receive a $1,500 scholarship each year.

In 2021, the annual Chancellor’s Dinner was pivoted to an online format. In lieu of purchasing tickets, guests were encouraged to donate to the Senate Scholarship Fund.  Thirty-six donations were made totaling over $9,200.

The U of L is grateful to the many past and current Senate members for their generosity and loyalty to our students. Please join us and make a donation.