University Secretariat (Governance)

University Secretariat

The University Secretariat (Governance) Office supports the bi-cameral governance bodies the Board of Governors and General Faculties Council and Statutory Deans' Council (advisory to both) by ensuring the organizational processes are efficient and effective and the institution (students, faculty and staff) and community (through supporting the work of the Senate) are well-informed and prepared to support the Strategic Plan of the University of Lethbridge.

PoliciesPlanning & Reporting

  • The University of Lethbridge governs itself with a bi-cameral governance structure, as set out in the Alberta Post-Secondary Learning Act. The Board of Governors has authority for business governance and the General Faculties Council (GFC) has authority for academic governance. The Senate is also defined within the Post-Secondary Learning Act, and it is the duty of a Senate to inquire into any matter that might benefit the university and enhance its position in the community.

  • As indicated within the Post-Secondary Learning Act 27 (1), each university must have a deans’ council. The deans’ council is an advisory body to the president of the university, the board and the general faculties council and has the powers, duties and functions that are delegated to it.

    The membership of Statutory Deans’ Council at the University of Lethbridge is as follows:

    • President
    • Provost & Vice-President (Academic) * delegated Chair
    • Vice-Presidents, Associate Vice-Presidents
    • Deans, Associate Deans
    • University Librarian, Associate University Librarian
    • Assistant Dean, Northern Campuses
    • Registrar
    • Executive Directors, Chief Information Officer
    • Director, Financial Services
    • Academic Director, Teaching Centre

    Committee Support:
    Executive Assistant, Provost & Vice-President (Academic), Linda Gilbert

    Committee Resource:
    General Counsel
    Senior Advisor to the President
    Director, University Secretariat
    Executive Analyst, Vice-President (Finance & Administration)


    Statutory Deans' Council Terms of Reference