Honorary Degrees

Honorary Degrees are awarded by the University of Lethbridge Senate under the power conferred upon this body by the Post-Secondary Learning Act of the Province of Alberta.


Recipients of these degrees personify the values expressed in the philosophy of the institution - they cultivate humane values and seek to foster such things as intellectual growth, social development, aesthetic sensitivity, personal ethics, and the dimensions of a scholar's personality.

Individuals who are honoured have made substantial contributions to society at the provincial, national and/or international levels in such areas as the professions, business, public life, philanthropy, the arts, humanities, and the sciences. People in virtually all fields of endeavour are eligible and the recipients need not be in prominent positions the distinguishing feature is that they will have given distinguished public service within the scope available to them.

Chancellor Charles Weaselhead congratulates Fall 2022 Honorary Degree Recipient Dr. Nancy Southern (Doctor of Laws, honoris causa)



Recipients of honorary degrees are selected from names submitted by members of the University's community, as well as from names submitted by members of the general public. Individuals may receive Doctor of Laws degrees (LL.D.), Doctor of Arts (D.A.), Doctor of Fine Arts (D.F.A.), Doctor of Science (D.Sc.), Doctor of Humanities (D.Hu.), or Doctor of Letters (D.Litt.). If deemed appropriate, academic nominees may receive other degree designations recommended for individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the intellectual core of a particular discipline.

Please review nomination guidelines and submit a completed nomination package to the Senate Office no later than November 1st of each year. For additional information, please contact the Governance Office.