2023 Recipients

Honorary Degrees are the highest honour conferred by the University of Lethbridge. The degrees are awarded to distinguished individuals in recognition of their scholarly, scientific or artistic achievement, or in recognition of exceptional contributions to the public good.

Regardless of the path they chose, each honoree is an inspiration. They have changed the world, or at least the way we look at it, having an impact both now and for generations to come.



Chancellor Terry Whitehead proudly conferred honorary degrees to three exceptional individuals at the Spring 2023 Convocation.


Fred Bradley, Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

Fred Bradley, former Alberta cabinet minister and longtime MLA, has spent a lifetime serving his community, the province and the country as a community builder, steward of natural resources and champion of democratic ideals, all while advocating for the recognition and preservation of the vibrant history of the Crowsnest Pass. 

Timothy Caulfield, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

In an age of rampant misinformation and misrepresentation of science, Professor Timothy Allen Caulfield, a Canada Research Chair in Public Health Law Policy, has taken on the responsibility of being a key figure at the forefront of communicating relevant, engaging, evidence-based and practical information that has helped protect society and enhance health and well-being. 

Dr. Esther Tailfeathers, Doctor of Science, honoris causa

Dr. Esther Tailfeathers (BA ’84), a member of the Kainai First Nation, persevered in her education and became a medical doctor at a time when there were few Indigenous physicians and throughout her career, she has improved Indigenous health care and inspired other generations of Indigenous doctors.