Meet Our Faculty & Staff

Our department includes an incredible group of professors, all with national and international reputations for their scholarship.  Faculty members have recently published articles and chapters in a wide range of different journals and books, including The Wiley Companion to Greek Warfare; the medieval history journal Storicamente; Nine Centuries of Man: Manhood and Masculinities in Scottish History; Fighting with the Empire: Canada, Britain, and Global Conflict, 1867-1947; and The Routledge History of the Twentieth Century United States. We’ve presented our research at conferences from Regina to Montreal; Pullman, Washington to Tuscaloosa, Alabama; and around the world in Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, New Zealand and China. Our geographical strengths are in western European and North American History but we also offer courses in World History and Asian History, and our temporal expertise stretches from the Ancient World to the twentieth century. There are lots of opportunities for students to get involved in faculty research projects, including through the Center for Oral History and Tradition (COHT), and the Institute for Child and Youth Studies (I-CYS). We are particularly proud of our colleague and I-CYS director, Dr. Kristine Alexander, whose book Guiding Modern Girls: Girlhood, Empire, and Internationalism in the 1920s and 1930s, won the prestigious Wilson Book Prize in the spring of 2018. And at the Spring 2018 Convocation Ceremonies, Dr. Sheila McManus became the third member of the department to receive the University's Distinguished Teaching Award.

 

Lynn Kennedy

Department Chair and Associate Professor 
American History
Office: C852 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2546
lynn.kennedy@uleth.ca

Kristine Alexander

Associate Professor and CRC Chair
Office: B880 (University Hall)
(403) 332-4623
kristine.alexander@uleth.ca

Christopher Burton

Associate Professor
Russian & Environmental History
Office: C864 (University Hall)
(403) 394-3948
christopher.burton@uleth.ca

Craig Cooper

Faculty
Ancient History
Office: C874 (University Hall)
(403) 329-5101
craig.cooper@uleth.ca

Christopher Epplett

Associate Professor
Ancient History
Office: C868 (University Hall)
(403) 329-5143
christopher.epplett@uleth.ca

Gideon Fujiwara

Associate Professor and Asian Studies Coordinator
Japanese & Asian History
Office: B876 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2502
gideon.fujiwara@uleth.ca  

David Hay

Associate Professor
Medieval Europe
Office: C870 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2421
david.hay@uleth.ca

Christopher Hosgood

Professor
Modern British History
Office:  C856 (University Hall)
403-380-1893
hosgood@uleth.ca

Sheila McManus

Professor
Office: C872 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2540
sheila.mcmanus@uleth.ca

Janay Nugent

Associate Professor
Early Modern Scotland
Office: B888 (University Hall)
(403) 380-1822
nugejb00@uleth.ca

Amy Shaw

Associate Professor
Canadian History; War & Peace
Office: C854 (University Hall)
(403) 329-2543
amy.shaw@uleth.ca

Heather Stanley

Assistant Professor
Canadian History & The Body
Office:  C850 (University Hall)
403-329-2361
heather.stanley@uleth.ca

Carol Williams

Professor, History & WGST (Cross-appointed)
North American Cultural & Gender Histories
Office: B886 (University Hall)
(403) 380-1818
carol.williams@uleth.ca

Sessionals

Jonathan Clapperton
jonathan.clapperton@uleth.ca

Chris Churchill
chris.churchill@uleth.ca

Jenny Oseen

Administrative Assistant
Office: A812 (University Hall)
(403) 380-1894
oseejs@uleth.ca