CFA Scholarship

Chartered Financial Analyst Scholarship

The Chartered Financial Analyst Program (CFA) is a professional credential offered internationally by the American-based CFA Institute to investment and financial professionals.

Through the participation in the CFA University Recognition Program, the University of Lethbridge Dhillon School of Business is eligible to award up to five CFA Program Awareness Scholarships for students to take the CFA examinations (Levels I, II or III) in June each year. Scholarship recipients pay a discounted registration fee, along with curriculum and shipping costs, plus any applicable taxes and import duties.


The scholarship covers the one-time CFA Program enrolment fee (if applicable) and reduces the exam registration fee (includes access to the curriculum eBook) to US$350. Scholarship candidates are responsible for any additional costs related to selecting/purchasing the curriculum.

Awareness Scholarships official rules (PDF)


These scholarships can be awarded to undergraduate students in their final year of course work, or to graduate students. Students applying for the scholarship must provide the necessary documentation, including a copy of their transcript. Priority will be given to finance major students, and those writing the exam for the first time. You are strongly encouraged to complete all finance-required courses before writing the CFA level 1 exam.

In addition, applicants must meet all CFA Program enrolment requirements.

Award cycle

Scholarships are awarded as applications are received (before the deadline) and processed.

  • Recipients of the June scholarship may only apply to the upcoming June exam (Levels I, II, and III)
  • Recipients of the December scholarship may only apply to the upcoming December exam (Level I)

Important information

  • All applications will now be completed, submitted, reviewed, and awarded online on the CFA Institute website.
  • Paper applications will no longer be available or accepted.