Arlan Schultz

Dr. Arlan Schultz

Associate Professor


Composition, theory


Dr. Arlan N. Schultz is associate professor of composition, theory, and digital audio arts at the University of Lethbridge. His composition teachers include Brian Ferneyhough, Roger Reynolds, Chinary Ung, Harvey Sollberger, Brian Cherney, and Michael Matthews.

Academic awards include numerous assistant teaching opportunities and fellowships, including the Richardson Foundation Scholarship for Music (Manitoba) and the Kurt Weill Fellowship for music (UCSD).

Composition awards include the BMI (1990) and Godfrey Ridout Awards (SOCAN, 1991) for Quartet Opus 10 and Edifice respectively; the Canada Arts Council's Robert Fleming Prize for composition (1995); and Second Prize in the International Mozart Competition (1997), Salzburg for PLI. Dr. Schultz's music has been heard in performances and broadcasts throughout Canada, the United States, France, Germany, Austria, Greece, Poland, and Hungary.

Recent Research & Publications

Brian Cherney: Transcendent Pedagogy and the Spiritualization of Technique. Invited paper. Illuminations: Brian Cherney at 75, McGill University, October 27-29, 2017.

Form and Music/The Music of Form. Lecture. University of Lethbridge Composer’s Forum, March 10, 2017.

Le Temps Perdu for solo bass clarinet and computer processed audio (2017).

Agon for solo flute and computer processed audio and real-time spatialization (2017).

The Path of Grace, for string orchestra (2016).

More About Arlan


Score for string quartet