Awards and Research Funding

Congratulations to faculty members in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry who have received awards and research awards/grants.


Year Professor


2022 Laura Keffer-Wilkes Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI) Scholar Award
2022 Nehal Thakor RiboClub Blue Jacket Award
2021 Susan Findlay

Excellence in Teaching Award

2021 Stacey Wetmore Ingrid Speaker Research Award
2019 Greg Patenaude ULSU Teaching Excellence Award (only person to win it two times)
2019 Stacey Wetmore Co-Editor in Chief, Canadian Journal of Chemistry
2017 Ute Wieden-Kothe Royal Society of Canada Member
2016 Paul Hayes Fellow Royal Society of Chemistry
2014 Ute Wieden-Kothe

Distinguished Teaching Award

2013 Greg Patenaude

ULSU Teaching Excellence Award

2012 Roman Przybylski

American Oil Chemists' Society -
Timothy L. Mounts Award

2011 Ute Wieden-Kothe

Alberta Women's Science Network 2011 -
Operation Minerva Mentoring Award

2011 Roman Przybylski

Alberta Food for Health Award -
A Premier's Award

2010 Hans-Joachim Wieden

Distinguished Teaching Award and
ULSU Teaching Excellence Award

2010 Paul Hayes

Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations -
Distinguished Academic Early Career Award

2009 Paul Hayes Alberta Innovates New Faculty Award
2008 Hans-Joachim Wieden Alberta Ingenuity New Faculty Award