Physics & Astronomy Programs

The Department offers a major in Physics for the 40-course Bachelor of Science (BSc) and Bachelor of Arts and Science (BASc) degree programs.

You can also select a General Major in the Sciences and choose Physics as one of the three streams.

Alternatively, you can declare Physics as your BSc major for the Combined BSc/BEd or BSc/BMgt programs.

The Department is also involved with the U of A Engineering Transfer Program and the University of Lethbridge's own Remote Sensing Program.

Physics & Astronomy Courses

Course selections for the program will vary depending on your degree, but may include:

  • Astronomy
  • Astrophysics
  • Biophysics
  • Electronics (digital and analog)
  • Electricity and Magnetism
  • Engineering
  • Experimental Physics
  • Mechanics
  • Nuclear and Particle Physics
  • Optics
  • Quantum Physics
  • Remote Sensing
  • Solid State Physics
  • Theoretical and Mathematical Physics
  • Thermal Physics
  • Waves

For more information on any of the degrees listed above, see your Program Planning Guide or speak to an Academic Advisor.

The foundation is built in the first two years by a study of mechanics, waves, electricity and magnetism, optics, thermal physics, and modern physics. In the third and fourth years, students deepen their understanding of the fundamentals, and study more advanced and specialized areas. Students have the benefit of relatively small classes and easy access to faculty. Students also have the opportunity to participate in the active research programs of the Faculty members through Independent Studies, Applied Studies, the Coop program, and summer employment. The University of Lethbridge Physics Department offers a physics major, a multidisciplinary major in remote sensing and combined degrees with the Faculty of Education and the Dhillon School of Business.

The program planning guide will assist you in planning your courses.

Course Descriptions: