3M National Teaching Fellowship

Canada’s most prestigious university and college teaching award is not a prize but a fellowship which 10 nominees from across Canada are invited to join each year. The Fellowship emphasizes excellence in teaching and in educational leadership equally.

U of L 3M National Teaching Fellows:

Shelly Wismath, School of Liberal Education, Department of Mathematics & Computer Science, 2017

Patricia Chuchryk, Department of Sociology, 1999.

Board of Governors Chair in Teaching

This two-year award – with a two course relief per year – recognizes faculty who are exceptional teachers who will further the enhancement of teaching excellence at the University of Lethbridge. In addition to working on their teaching related project, Teaching Chairs serve on the Teaching Centre Advisory Council.

Distinguished Teaching Award

The Distinguished Teaching Award was established in 1987 at the University of Lethbridge under the auspices of the President. The award is in recognition of the central importance of teaching to the philosophy and goals of the University of Lethbridge, and recognizes those members of the academic staff who excel in teaching.

Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada

These are senior scholars recognized for lifelong contributions/achievements:

Mary Kavanagh, Department of Art, 2021

Robert Sutherland, Department of Neuroscience, 2021

Louise Barrett, Department of Psychology, 2016

Bruce McNaughton, Department of Neuroscience, 2016

Joseph Rasmussen, Department of Biological Sciences, 2016

Bryan Kolb, Department of Neuroscience, 2000

Susan McDaniel, Department of Sociology, 1994

Ian Whishaw, Department of Neuroscience, 1998

John Woods, Department of Philosophy, 1990

The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists (Royal Society of Canada)

These are merging scholars who are anticipated to make major contributions:

Ute Kothe, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, 2017

Yale Belanger, Department of Political Science, 2017

Artur Luczak, Department of Neuroscience, 2016

Andrew Iwaniuk, Department of Neuroscience, 2014