The University of Lethbridge will be Canada’s destination for all who seek a comprehensive, liberal education-based university that promotes a diverse and inclusive environment and inspires research-informed teaching and learning, creative discovery, scholarship, professional endeavour, experiential opportunities and community engagement.

Destination 2022: Strategic Directions

  • Excel as a comprehensive university
  • Inspire and support student potential
  • Promote access to quality, affordable post-secondary education
  • Build internal community and enhance relationships with external communities
  • Enhance the sustainability of the University

View the 2018-2022 Strategic Plan

Planning & Reporting

The University of Lethbridge's Strategic Plan and supported by our Comprehensive Institutional Plan, Research and Academic Plans.

Visit Planning & Reporting

President's Executive

Dr. Mike Mahon

Dr. Mike Mahon - Iipisowaahsiiyi

President & Vice-Chancellor

The President provides leadership as to the University's academic and administrative vision, optimizes its development, ensures its objectives are achieved and assures its quality and future. 

Office of the President

Dr. Leroy Little Bear

Dr. Leroy Little Bear - Iikaisskini (BASc (BA) '72, LLD '04)*, O.C.

Vice-Provost, Iniskim Indigenous Relations / Special Assistant to the President

A founding member of Canada's first university-based Native American Studies program, Dr. Little Bear works with the university leadership team and throughout the institutional to advance Indigenous initiatives at the university. 

About Dr. Little Bear

Erasmus Okine closeup

Dr. Erasmus Okine

Provost & Vice-President (Academic)

The Provost provides leadership, oversight, and direction across a broad spectrum of University operations including institutional planning and reporting; academic program development, implementation, maintenance and quality assurance; student services; and budgeting and reporting in collaboration with the Vice-President (Finance and Administration).

Office of the Provost & Vice-President (Academic)

Michelle Helstein

Dr. Michelle Helstein


Broadly supports the work of the Office of the Provost, including the oversight of academic quality assurance and new program development, Institutional Analysis, International, the Teaching Centre and the Calgary Campus.

Office of the Provost & Vice-President (Academic)

Headshot of Kathy Greenwood, uLethbridge vice-president development and alumni relations

Kathy Greenwood

Vice-President, External Relations

Oversees Donor and Alumni Relations to cultivate engagement, involvement and a sustainable culture of philanthropy among our University communities.

Headshot of Nancy Walker

Nancy Walker (BMgt '82)*

Vice-President (Finance & Administration)

Oversees the university's Ancillary Services, Facilities, Financial Services, Human Resources, General Counsel and Sport & Recreation Services offices. She also serves as a liaison officer for Universities Academic Pension Plan, as well as a variety of provincial and federal funding agencies.

Office of the Vice-President (Finance & Administration)

Portrait of Dena McMartin

Dr. Dena McMartin

Vice-President (Research)

Supports the university's research community and endeavours by overseeing Animal Care Services, the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs, Research Ethics, Research & Innovation Services and the University-Industry Liaison Office.

Office of the Vice-President (Research)

Governance structure

Board of Governors group shot

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors (BOG) has authority for the University's business governance.

Board of Governors members

Dean Gallimore (BMgt ’84)

Chair, Board of Governors

General Faculties Council group shot

General Faculties Council

The General Faculties Council (GFC) has authority for the University's academic governance.

General Faculties Council members

Senate group shot


Composed of a variety of elected and appointed University faculty, staff and community members, the Senate promotes the University and enhances its position in the community, elects the Chancellor, and approves honorary degree recipients.

Senate members