Symposium winners announced

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry held its annual Symposium for Chemistry & Biochemistry recently. The mandate of the symposium, and associated poster prize, is to recognize undergraduate and graduate students performing original research.

Prizewinners were selected for both graduate and undergraduate submissions in each of the fields of chemistry and biochemistry. The Loren Hepler Gold Medal for PhD Research Excellence was also awarded, with Evan Mercier finishing first and Kevin Johnson second.

Other prizes are as follows:

Chemistry – Undergraduates
First – Breanne Kamenz; Second – Fern Leavens

Chemistry – Graduates
First – Cassandra Churchill; Second – Praveen Chaudhary

Biochemistry – Undergraduates
First – Dominic Mudiayi; Second – Lisza Bruder

Biochemistry – Graduates
First – Kirsten Rosler; Second – Laura Keffer-Wilkes