Weadick appointed Minister of Advanced Education and Technology

Premier promotes Verlyn Olson and Greg Weadick to cabinet
Cal Dallas becomes the new Parliamentary Assistant to Finance

Premier Ed Stelmach announced today that Wetaskiwin-Camrose MLA Verlyn Olson, QC, has been named Minister of Justice and Attorney General, and Lethbridge West MLA Greg Weadick has been named Minister of Advanced Education and Technology.

"We look forward to working with Greg in his new role as Minister of Advanced Education and Technology," said U of L President Mike Mahon.

"As our local MLA and in his prior role with Advanced Education and Technology, Greg is very aware of post-secondary education issues and challenges. Greg has been a long-time supporter of the University of Lethbridge as a graduate himself and as a parent of one of our current students. I know Greg is very aware of the aspirations and needs of the University of Lethbridge and I offer him the congratulations of the University community on his new appointment."

"I'm pleased to welcome Verlyn and Greg to the cabinet table," said Premier Stelmach. "Verlyn and Greg bring the necessary talent and experience - Greg as a parliamentary assistant and Verlyn as a long-time member of the bar - to complete our cabinet team. Our cabinet will continue to provide the steady leadership required right now to continue building a better Alberta."

Premier Stelmach also named a new Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance and Enterprise. "I'm pleased that Red Deer South MLA Cal Dallas, who had been serving as the Parliamentary Assistant in Environment, will take over this important role and work closely with Finance Minister Lloyd Snelgrove," said the Premier.

Premier Stelmach also announced changes to committee memberships. Joining the Agenda and Priorities Committee are Sustainable Resource Development Minister Mel Knight, Children and Youth Services Minister Yvonne Fritz and Agriculture and Rural Development Minister Jack Hayden. New members of Treasury Board are Len Webber, Minister of Aboriginal Relations, Heather Klimchuk, Minister of Service Alberta, and Naresh Bhardwaj, MLA for Edmonton-Ellerslie.

The new Cabinet members will be sworn in Friday, Feb. 18 at 8:30 a.m. at Government House.

Lloyd Snelgrove was sworn in as Minister of Finance and Enterprise on Jan. 31.