Student captures NEADS award

The National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) and BMO Capital Markets are pleased to announce the 12 outstanding winners of the 2010 NEADS Equity Through Education Student Awards Program.

Among the recipients is Katherine Taylor, a University of Lethbridge psychology student who was selected from among 375 applicants to join 11 other undergraduate or graduate students as award winners.

All recipients receive $3,000 toward their tuition.

A complete listing of recipients can be found below.

"NEADS congratulates the 2010 winners of the NEADS Equity Through Education Student Awards, says Dr. Mahadeo Sukhai, NEADS Past-President and Chair of the selection committee.

"There were many excellent candidates and 375 applications for this year's competition. The dedication, perseverance and achievements of this year's winners embody the spirit of the Awards program. We wish them all the very best in their studies, and look forward to watching their successes in the future. We are grateful to BMO Capital Markets for its generous funding of the Equity Through Education Student Awards."

"Congratulations to all of this year's winners," says Mike Miller, Head of Equity Products, BMO Capital Markets and a champion of the Equity Through Education Program. "Your achievements serve as an inspiration for others and help reinforce the important work of NEADS. We admire the vital role of NEADS, which helps young Canadians with disabilities finish their studies and make a successful transition to the employment market."

The winners in the University Undergraduate Studies category are:

-- Naomi Harrington (Computer Science and Psychology combined major,University of Victoria)

-- Devin Ryan (Computer Science, Business option, Lakehead University

-- Katie Raso (Communication, Simon Fraser University)

-- Alexandra Papaiconomou (Law, University of Western Ontario)

-- Katherine Taylor (Psychology, French Minor, University of Lethbridge)

-- Tawnie Wilson (Communications and Women's Studies combined, University of Windsor)

Recipients in Graduate Studies category are:

-- James Bell (MA Criminology, University of Toronto)

-- Jessica Dunkley (Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa)

-- Kelly Fritsch (Ph.D Social and Political Thought, York University)

-- Chelsea Mohler (Masters of Health and Rehabilitation Science, University of Western Ontario)

-- Barbara Schober (Doctor of Philosophy/History, University of British Columbia).

The winner of the Equity Through Education Student Awards in the College/Cegep Studies category is Larissa Haluszka-Smith (Occupational Therapist Assistant/Physiotherapist Assistant, Centennial College).