Honorary degree recipients make contributions

The 2011 Honorary Degree Recipients

A distinguished group of four people make up the Spring Convocation list of Honorary Degree recipients. In each instance, it is apparent that this group gave a great deal to their vocational field but more than anything, they gave back to society.

Maude Barlow

Maude Barlow is a widely published author, leader in the International Water Justice Movement, senior advisor on water to the 63rd president of the United Nations General Assembly and the founding member and national chairperson of the Council of Canadians.

Clint Dunford

Clint Dunford is a business consultant and four-term member of the Alberta Legislature (Lethbridge West) who was instrumental in the creation and launch of Campus Alberta and WorkSafe Alberta, among other initiatives. A cancer survivor, Dunford served as the honorary chairman of the Canadian Cancer Society's Walk for Life.

Kim Phuc

Kim Phuc is a noted humanitarian and subject of the famous photograph of a young Vietnamese girl fleeing her village after a horrific napalm attack. Phuc founded the Kim Phuc Foundation and is a UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador for a Culture of Peace.

Gordon Semenoff

A Pincher Creek-born theoretical physicist, Gordon Semenoff is a professor of physics at the University of British Columbia. He was the 2010 Bertram Brockhouse medal winner and is a renowned expert on quantum mechanics, quantum field theory, statistical mechanics and string theory.