Student Success

Chinook Symposium winners awarded

The University of Lethbridge’s 12th annual Chinook Symposium took place recently, showcasing research work from high school, undergraduate and graduate students, as well as special presentations from postdoctoral fellows and the University’s Collegiate iGEM (international Genetic Engineering Machines) team.

The first Chinook Symposium was organized by Dr. Hans-Joachim Wieden, Dr. Marc Roussel and Susan Hill in 2007 and the event has grown dramatically over the years. This year, 46 posters were presented, compared to 22 posters at the inaugural event in 2007. The event has also grown to involve the community at large, inviting guest judges such as high school teachers, politicians and business leaders. This year, 2018 Alumnus of the Year, Bill Spenceley (BASc ‘’81) served in the role.

The event began in 2007 by awarding eight cash prizes to the top two graduate and undergraduate students each in biochemistry and chemistry. In 2012, a rookie award was added to recognize students presenting at a conference for the first time, and in 2013 a PhD division was added. Cash prizes are now awarded to the top two PhD presenters in biochemistry and in chemistry.

In 2017 and 2018, the Canadian Journal of Chemistry generously sponsored two Canadian Journal of Chemistry Awards for Best Student Presentation, one at the undergraduate level and one at the graduate level. This brings the current count to 14 cash prizes as well as a certificate for top rookie presenter.

Winners of the 12th Chinook Symposium are:


1. Jaira Ranger (Rookie of the Year)
2. Janelle Bykowski

1. Hope Vienneau
2. Sydnee Calhoun


1. Priya Bhutani
2. Desmond Chisholm

1. Elijah Dueck
2. Colyn Cleland


1. Dylan Webb
2. Ryan Kung

1. Taylor Sheahan
2. Dustin Smith

Canadian Journal of Chemistry Award for Best Student Presentation
Undergraduate - Jaira Ranger
Graduate - Elijah Dueck