University of Lethbridge graduates to be celebrated at Spring 2024 Convocation

This week, the University of Lethbridge will celebrate the accomplishments of 1,432 students as they cross the stage at Spring 2024 Convocation.

This spring’s graduating class reflects the great diversity of our campus and includes graduates aged 19 to 68. The University will celebrate its first-ever cohort of Bachelor of Science students from the ULethbridge Calgary campus and recognize the initial graduates of the Indigenous Student Success Certificate program, a first-year credit program that provides a solid foundation of core skills, as well as cultural and peer support that better positions students for success in their further undergraduate studies.

Spring 2024 Convocation ceremonies take place Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31.

“Graduation is a significant milestone — a time to look forward at next steps and also to recount the journey to this moment,” says ULethbridge President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Digvir Jayas. “From the time they began their programs, many of them virtually, they have experienced significant shifts, both personally and in the world around them. The education our students have received, the people they have met and the conversations they have engaged in have greatly broadened their perspectives and prepared them to do great things in this world as ULethbridge alumni.”

Spring 2024 Convocation ceremonies take place Thursday, May 30 and Friday, May 31 at the 1st Choice Savings Centre for Sport and Wellness, beginning at 9:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. each day.

All four ceremonies are free of charge and open to the public and media. Following is the convocation schedule for the week.

Thursday, May 30

Ceremony I — 9:30 a.m. — School of Graduate Studies (PhD, MSc); Faculty of Arts & Science (BASc, BSc); Honorary Degree: Tadashi Mitsui; Speaker Research Award: Dr. René T. Boeré

Ceremony II — 2:30 p.m. — School of Graduate Studies (MA, MN); Faculty of Arts & Science (BA); Faculty of Health Sciences (BHSc, BN, BTR); Honorary Degree: Karen Wauters; Volunteer Award: Talayna Ekelund; Graduate Mentorship Award: Dr. Kristine Alexander

Chancellor’s Dinner — 6 p.m., Science Commons Atrium — A dinner to honour all award recipients

Friday, May 31

Ceremony III — 9:30 a.m. — School of Graduate Studies (MC, MEd, MFA, MMus); Faculty of Education (BEd); Combined Degrees with Education; Faculty of Fine Arts (all programs); Honorary Degree: Dr. Nahum Sonenberg; Board of Governors Teaching Chair: Wayne Lippa

Ceremony IV — 2:30 p.m. — School of Graduate Studies (MHSM, MSc (Mgt)); Dhillon School of Business (all programs); Combined Degrees with Management; Honorary Degree: Kurt Schlachter

For complete Spring 2024 Convocation information, please visit