Campus Life

Esteemed Honorary Degree recipients to be recognized at Convocation

The University of Lethbridge Senate is pleased to announce the distinguished group of Honorary Degree recipients that will be celebrated at the 2015 Spring and Fall Convocation ceremonies.

Full citations of the esteemed honourees will be released in the weeks leading up to Spring Convocation, May 28-29, 2015. Congratulations to the following individuals:

Xiaoyi Bao
One of the most accomplished and influential women in science, Xiaoyi Bao has made revolutionary contributions to the field of fibre optics communications, and provides outstanding mentorship to young scientists.

Chief Victor Buffalo
Chief Victor Buffalo is a distinguished businessman, statesman, diplomat and former Samson Cree Nation Chief who significantly advanced the economic and educational opportunities and the human rights of Aboriginals in Alberta and across Canada.

Gregory Fahlman
One of the world’s leading astrophysicists, Gregory Fahlman is an accomplished scientific researcher, university educator and astronomy facilities manager who has helped maintain Canada’s status as a top astronomy nation.

Bryan Kolb
Researcher and educator Bryan Kolb is an internationally renowned expert in behavioural neuroscience whose comprehensive investigations into the development of the brain have been integral to the health of Canadians.

Ian Tyson
Western music singer and songwriter Ian Tyson is a Canadian music icon who, over the last five decades, has produced many popular and critically acclaimed folk songs that reflect rural culture in Alberta.