Campus Life

Two U of L scholars elected to The Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada recently welcomed 70 new members to The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists, including two University of Lethbridge faculty members.

Dr. Yale Belanger

Dr. Yale Belanger (BA ’98), a member of the Department of Political Science, is a leading scholar of Indigenous Studies whose research breaks new ground in the understanding of First Nations’ gambling enterprises, urban Aboriginal policy and the role of federal housing policy in addressing homelessness among Indigenous peoples.

“Being named to The Royal Society is a real honour for me,” says Belanger. “The U of L also benefits by having the quality of scholarly work and research being conducted here highlighted. As an alum who finished his BA in 1998 only to return as a faculty member, this is an especially proud moment.”

Dr. Ute Kothe
Dr. Ute Kothe, a professor in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, has made pioneering discoveries regarding the role of RNAs and proteins in gene expression with relevance for several diseases. RNA stands for RiboNucleic Acid and is a critical biomolecule derived from DNA, the well-known genetic material in all cells.Her leadership in the international RNA community and in science outreach has gained her numerous awards.

“Being elected to The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists is a tremendous privilege,” says Kothe. “As part of the Alberta RNA Research and Training Institute at the U of L, I am enjoying an inspiring environment to conduct groundbreaking RNA research. And I’m passionate about our outreach work with the Let’s Talk Science team to engage children and youth in science.”

The College is a handpicked selection of top mid-career scholars and artists in Canada, representing the emerging generation of scholarly, scientific and artistic leadership in Canada. Its members have already received recognition in their fields for excellence and serve as ambassadors of their fields.

“We sincerely congratulate Yale and Ute in their election to The Royal Society of Canada,” says Dr. Erasmus Okine, vice-president research. “Their dedication and hard work in their respective fields have earned them this honour. We are proud of their accomplishments and wish them continuing success.”

The Royal Society of Canada, founded in 1882, comprises the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences, in addition to The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. Its mission is to recognize scholarly, research and artistic excellence, advise governments and organizations and promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada.