Six new inductees to Alumni Honour Society

Following are 2009 inductees into the Alumni Honour Society

In celebration of the University's 35th Anniversary in 2002, the University of Lethbridge Alumni Association established the Alumni Honour Society to recognize the achievements of successful alumni within the global community. The individuals inducted into this prestigious group serve as role models through success in their vocation, outstanding community service or superior accomplishment in their avocation.

Chris Burton (BEd '74, DPE '78) is a champion of youth who has dedicated her life to teaching, coaching and giving back to the community.

The Lethbridge Collegiate Institute Teacher of the Year for 2008, Burton has been an active member of the Girl Guides of Canada and will take on the role of Chief Commissioner of Canada in 2009. Her commitment and enthusiasm to youth and the community is demonstrated through awards such as Lethbridge Woman of Distinction (1989), Queen Elizabeth Golden Jubilee Medal (2002) and Alberta Sports Hall of Fame (2006).

Dr. Douglas Colwell (BASc '74) is a research scientist at the Lethbridge Research Centre and a valued adjunct professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Lethbridge.

Internationally recognized for his studies on the interactions between insect parasites and their animal hosts, Colwell was honoured as a Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society in 2006. He is an active member of the community and serves on numerous editorial boards, professional associations and graduate student committees.

Delia Cross Child (BA '96, BEd '02) is a contemporary artist and educator whose creativity and compassion have brought pride to her community and awareness to First Nations issues.

Known for integrating tradition and history with a modern sensibility, Cross Child's work has been exhibited at the Glenbow Museum, Walter Phillips Gallery and Southern Alberta Art Gallery.

As a teacher, she has woven traditional visual literacy into her curriculum to successfully inspire and motivate learning in students.

Dean Gallimore (BMgt '84) is the office-managing partner for KPMG LLP in Lethbridge as well as a strong community advocate. Gallimore has generously chaired such committees as the Chartered Accountants of Alberta Education Foundation, the University of Lethbridge Planned Giving Advisory Committee and Faculty of Management Advisory Committee.

Dedicated to his profession and respected by his peers, he has received the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta Distinguished Service Award (2001) and was honoured as a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta (2008).

Cecily Kenwood (BASc '78) is a local lawyer who has devoted much time to improving the Lethbridge community. As a long-time member of the Lethbridge Regional Legal Aid committee, she received an award of recognition from Legal Aid Alberta in 2008.

At the University of Lethbridge, Kenwood has served as vice-president of the Alumni Association and as a member of the Senate. In addition, she has been a board member with diverse organizations including the Lethbridge John Howard Society, St. Michael's Health Care Centre, Waterton Beargrass Festival and Nikka Yuko Japanese Gardens.

Guy McNab (BASc '82) is a partner at MacLachlan McNab Hembroff, Barristers and Solicitors, in Lethbridge who has continued his strong association with the University of Lethbridge. As a member of the University of Lethbridge Board of Governors, McNab was respected for his significant investments of time and effort on behalf of the institution.

He has also served as counsel to the Federal Government of Canada on various provincial inquiries, volunteered his time providing public legal education workshops since 1990 and is an active member of the Lethbridge Legal Guidance Society.