Student Success

Congratulations to our Leaders of Tomorrow award winners

The University of Lethbridge congratulates all Leaders of Tomorrow award winners; they are shining examples of engaged citizenship. As part of National Volunteer Week, Volunteer Lethbridge announced the winners at a gala Thursday evening.

Among the winners are several U of L students and their volunteer work highlights their desire to give back to the community. They truly are the leaders of tomorrow.

In the 19-to-24 age group, U of L students Marissa Hsu, Jesse Wamsteeker, Chelsea Kleckner, Antoine Gendron and Justin Miller each received an Excellence Award.

Hsu has served on a medical-volunteering trip to the Dominican Republic. Her involvements include the Student Refugee Program, the Canadian Armed Forces and the Delta Eta Iota Sorority.

Wamsteeker is a respected volunteer leader known for his dedication, motivation, compassion and exceptional planning and organizational skills. He volunteers at Chinook Regional hospital and with Canadian Blood Services and is dedicated to helping those around him.

Kleckner embodies leadership and selfless service in her volunteer work. She’s involved with the U of L Rotaract Club, Volunteer Lethbridge, Eagles Nest Ranch, Hillcrest Evangelical Church, Lethbridge Food Bank and Whispering Pines Camp.

Gendron, a dedicated activist, has worked hard to create change. He started and planned the U of L’s first Earth Day celebration in 2018, including raising funds and recruiting volunteers and speakers. He organized this year’s Earth Day celebration as well. In addition, Gendron is involved with the Oldman Watershed Council and serves on their board of directors.

Miller is known for his ability to create an environment of trust, hospitality and rapport. He showed exceptional leadership in revamping the Emergency Room volunteer program at Chinook Regional Hospital. Miller gives his time to many other organizations, including the U of L Pre-Med Club, Taber Minor Hockey and Cranbrook Minor Hockey.

In addition, Recognition Awards were given to the following U of L students: Trinity Alles, Hana Bissett, Elani Bykowski, Abby Davis, Janey Deacon-Rosamond, Keely Goulding, Suraj Navani, Suzanne Stables, Sunil Stephenson, Olivia Tondevold and Tiffany Trinh.

Through a partnership with Volunteer Lethbridge, the UVolunteer program, administered through the School of Liberal Education, encourages volunteerism among students. One of the pillars of liberal education is citizenship, both local and global. The U of L is extremely proud of these bright lights in our midst who exemplify this ideal of citizenship. We applaud their many achievements through volunteerism.