Campus Life

A Year In Review

Pronghorn Women Are National Rugby Champions

The University of Lethbridge Pronghorns women's rugby team captured the program's first Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) national championship in November 2007.

The Horns beat the host Western Mustangs 15-10 in the title game, giving Pronghorn Athletics its first national championship since the men's hockey team captured the 1994 CIAU title. The women's rugby team had previously won a silver medal at the 2003 tournament and a bronze at the 2006 event.

Award Winners

Dr. Stewart Rood, a U of L professor of biological sciences and Board of Governors Research Chair in Environmental Science, was a 2008 recipient of the Killam Research Fellowship – one of Canada's most distinguished research awards.

University judo coach Yosh Senda (LLD '89) was invested into the Order of Canada in April for his longtime commitment to the sport of judo.

The Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program awarded U of L political scientist Dr. Chris Kukucha the 2007 Fulbright Scholarship.

The Confederation of Alberta Faculty Associations presented Lisa Doolittle (Theatre and Dramatic Arts) and Emily Luce (New Media) with the organization's 2007 Distinguished Academic Award and Distinguished Academic Early Career Award, respectively.