Campus Life

Pronghorn student-athletes honoured with Academic All-Canadian awards

University of Lethbridge Pronghorn athletes continue to excel in balancing their athletic endeavours and academic pursuits as 46 student-athletes achieved Academic All-Canadian status for 2014-15.

Every year, the CIS (Canadian Interuniversity Sport) honours student-athletes who are proficient in sport at the university level, while also maintaining an 80 per cent average in academics. This is an outstanding accomplishment considering the amount of time student-athletes commit to training.

“Our Academic All-Canadians epitomize what it means to be a student-athlete,” says Sport and Recreation Executive Director Ken McInnes. “These exceptional student-athletes have learned to balance their academic and athletic demands to achieve a high level of success and should be proud of their accomplishments.”

The 46 Pronghorn athletes honoured from this past year account for more than 25 per cent of the school’s varsity athletes. The University recognized these outstanding individuals at a dinner hosted by U of L President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Mike Mahon and his wife Maureen.

“The hosting of this event at the Mahon’s home adds a very special touch and recognizes the importance of their achievement to the University,” says McInnes.

Women’s rugby players led the way with nine members of the team achieving All-Canadian status, followed closely by women’s hockey with eight. The men’s soccer program had the most among the men’s teams with six players named as Academic All-Canadians.

The 2014-15 Pronghorn Academic All-Canadians are also recipients of the Deb Steacy AAC Scholarship.

Since the inception of the Academic All-Canadian program in 1990, a total of 849 Pronghorn varsity athletes have been named Academic All-Canadians.

Following is the list of Pronghorn athletes who achieved CIS Academic All-Canadian status for 2014-15:

Men’s Basketball
Alexi Frigon, Health Sciences
Jason Nysten, Arts & Science
Zacharia Overwater, Fine Arts

Men’s Hockey
Daniel Fainman, Management
Dylan Tait, Arts & Science

Men’s Soccer
Sean Gaiesky, Arts & Science
Ethan Perkins, Arts & Science
Domenic Rigaux, Management
Cormac Southam, Arts & Science
Shlomo Swan-Azmon, Arts & Science
Kendell Wiens, Arts & Science

Men’s Swimming
Joshua Baerg, Arts & Science
David Errington, Arts & Science
Owen Guyn, Arts & Science
Cole Midtdal, Arts & Science

Women’s Basketball
Elizabeth Buie, Arts & Science
Kimberley Veldman, Health Sciences

Women’s Hockey
Jenae Culp, Arts & Science
Delaney Duchek, Arts & Science
Aislinn Kooistra, Arts & Science
Sadie Lenstra, Health Sciences
Jessica Lohues, Arts & Science
Katherine Mucha, Health Sciences
Kirsten Reeves, Health Sciences
Jocelyn Sabourin, Health Sciences

Women’s Rugby
Shelby Brennan, Management
Bryna Cline, Arts & Science
Sarah Gordon, Health Sciences
Kara Loewen, Arts & Science
Jane O'Connor, Arts & Science
Coreen Riley, Health Sciences
Jillian Tataryn, Management
Alison Toews, Arts & Science
Paula Woynarowsky, Education

Women’s Soccer
Alycia Amatto, Arts & Science
Erica Augsten, Arts & Science
Jesse Dueck, Arts & Science
Danielle Lagemaat, Arts & Science
Keagan Moch, Health Sciences
Kimberly Shellenberg, Health Sciences

Women’s Swimming
Rebekah Albu, Health Sciences
Ardelle Layden, Health Sciences
Caprice Rosentreter, Arts & Science

Women’s Track & Field
Rebecca Bermel, Arts & Science
Lara Roth, Arts & Science
Amanda Weiler, Arts & Science