Campus Life

Horns headed to Hall

It was a magical run for the University of Lethbridge Pronghorns 1994 men's hockey program, netting the school's first ever national championship and saving a program in the progress.

The incredible story has been recognized on a number of levels and now, the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame is joining in, naming the 1994 Horns team as one of its 2012 inductees.

Coached by Mike Babcock, the Horns, who had never finished a season above the .500 mark, posted a 34-11-3 record to win the Canada West regular season title. They backed up that effort with a win in the post-season and clinched the national championship with a victory on Maple Leaf Gardens ice. The team was previously inducted into the Lethbridge Sports Hall of Fame and the University of Lethbridge Hall of Fame.

The Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place June 9 in Red Deer.