Campus Life

Horns dynasty team inducted into Alberta Sports Hall of Fame

They dominated women's rugby for three years, winning consecutive Canadian Interuniversity Sport national championships in 2007, 2008 and 2009. On Wednesday, the University of Lethbridge Pronghorns women's rugby championship teams were inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame.

The Horns' title run was capped by a dominant performance at the CIS championship tournament in 2009.

The Horns will go into the hall as part of the 2015 inductee class that also includes: Carla MacLeod (Hockey); Kevin Martin (Curling); Bruce MacGregor (Hockey); Bill Warren (Builder); Hugh McPherson (Builder); James (Bearcat) Murray (Builder); David and Jean Folinsbee (Pioneer Award – Badminton); Peter Maher (Bell Memorial Award); Chris Koch (Achievement Award); and Joey Moss (Achievement Award).

Following the program’s first Canada West title and a CIS bronze medal victory in 2006, the Pronghorns returned to the CIS Championships in 2007 in London, Ont. The Horns defeated the host Western Mustangs 15-10 to win the program's first national title and kick off a run of dominance that not only boosted the University's national reputation but inspired a new generation of rugby players throughout southern Aberta.

Brittany Orr was named CIS tournament most valuable player and Canada West rookie of the year, while Ashley Steacy (nee: Patzer) garnered recognition as a CIS All-Canadian.

While the Horns knew they were guaranteed a berth in the 2008 CIS Championship as the host program, the team earned its third consecutive Canada West title to enter the tournament as the top seed. On their home field, the Pronghorns repeated as national champions with a 29-15 win over St. Francis Xavier University in front of more than a 1,000 hometown fans.

Steacy was named CIS Tournament MVP and the Pronghorns laid claim to six of the 15 tournament all-star spots. Brandi Van Eeuwen was named both the Canada West and CIS rookie of the year.

The 2009 season was truly a special one for the Pronghorns as they went undefeated in Canada West conference action, outscoring their opponents 217-7 in four conference games before winning the Canada West title with a 30-0 victory over the University of Alberta Pandas.

The Horns' dominance was cemented at the CIS Championship tournament in Vancouver. The U of L opened the tourney with a 51-3 thrashing of the Western Mustangs before dispatching Quebec champion Concordia 15-0. A 25-0 victory over Ontario champion Guelph Gryphons set up another championship matchup with St. FX. Once again, the Pronghorns prevailed, winning 20-3 for their third consecutive CIS Championship.

On their run to the title in 2009, the Horns outscored their opponents an unfathomable 444-13. Steacy was named CIS Player of the Year, while Andrea Letal was the tournament MVP and Neil Langevin was named Canada West and CIS Coach of the Year.

The 2015 Alberta Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet was held May 29, 2015.