Honorary degree recipients a distinguished, accomplished group

The University of Lethbridge is excited to honour the contributions of four remarkable Canadians with U of L honorary degrees that will be presented at the Spring 2016 Convocation ceremonies.

These outstanding recipients have made valuable contributions in their respective fields and immeasurable impacts in their communities and beyond.

Dr. Terry Robinson, Dr. Nancy Edwards, Gordon Jong and Wilton Littlechild will be honoured at the Spring 2016 Convocation ceremonies.

Dr. Terry Robinson

As one of the University of Lethbridge’s most distinguished graduates, Dr. Terry E. Robinson’s work in neuroscience has revolutionized our understanding of drug addiction and how drugs impact the brain; the practical application of his work will have tremendous implications for the treatment of addiction and the management of relapses.

Nancy Edwards

Through her research in the fields of falls prevention, maternal and child health care, tobacco control, and HIV and AIDS, Dr. Nancy Edwards has informed and shaped our approaches to public health and distinguished herself as one of Canada’s most important contributors to global health teaching and research.

Gordon Jong

The ninth Chair of the University of Lethbridge Board of Governors, Lethbridge-based chartered accountant Gordon Jong has shown passion, dedication and commitment to the University of Lethbridge and has dedicated over 20 years of his life to the furtherance of post-secondary education in southern Alberta.

Wilton Littlechild

Known as a pioneer of the global Indigenous rights movement, J. Wilton Littlechild is an honorary Cree chief, lawyer, residential school survivor, renowned sportsman and former politician who has worked for more than 30 years for the advancement of Indigenous rights and treaties.