Whishaw among those receiving key to city

A number of notable residents of southern Alberta, including many with ties to the University of Lethbridge, will receive a key to the city from Lethbridge Mayor Bob Tarleck this week.

Neuroscience researcher Dr. Ian Whishaw headlines an impressive group of residents set to be honoured by the outgoing mayor. He'll receive his key on Thursday, Oct. 7 at a ceremony which begins at 2 p.m. at City Hall Council Chambers, 910 4th Ave. S.

Following is a complete list of those receiving keys to the city.

Mr. Ken Nakagama — Downtown business owner (Nakagama's Foods)

Senator Joyce Fairbairn — Member, Senate of Canada and U of L Honorary Doctoral degree recipient, 2004

Dr. Tracy Edwards — President, Lethbridge College

Mr. Kai Yip — Boxing coach, competitor and sports/recreation advocate

Mr. Kevin Sali — Manager, Canadian Pacific Railway and High Level Bridge lighting supporter/facilitator

The Hon. Rick Casson — Member of Parliament, Lethbridge, and recently-named Privy Council member

Dr. Ian Whishaw — Leading neuroscience researcher, member of the Royal Society of Canada and U of L Honorary Doctoral degree recipient, 2008

Ms. Rochelle Yamagishi — Author and U of L alumna BASc (BA) 1971, MEd 1991

Mr. Gary Kirk — Regional business owner, Kirk's Tire, and Faculty of Management Scholarship Dinner honoree, 2004

Chief Charles Weasel Head — Kainai First Nation

Chief Reg Crowshoe — Piikani First Nation

The public is welcome to attend the ceremony.