Campus Life

Department of Art Exhibition Celebrates U of L 50th Anniversary

The University of Lethbridge’s Homecoming celebrations are now behind us, but the Faculty of Fine Arts continues to celebrate the U of L’s 50th anniversary. Coming up next is the first of two 50th anniversary art exhibitions hosted by the Department of Art. Opening with a reception at 7 p.m. on Friday, September 15 at the Dr. Foster James Penny Building (324 – 5 Street S) is Aperture: Roloff Beny Photography Award Retrospective highlighting the digital art of past Roloff Beny award recipients.

The Roloff Beny Foundation Photographic Awards, established in 2005, recognizes academic and artistic achievement of students with a focused interest in photo-arts by providing travel opportunities to complement the creative activity of outstanding students. Since its inception, the foundation has provided over $105,000 in bursaries to eligible photography students at the U of L. The funds are used to offset costs incurred by travel, photography equipment or supplies, and/or tuition or fees. For the first time the results of the bursaries will be put on display in one location.

From September 15 until September 29, 17 past recipients will display the works they created through these once-in-a-lifetime bursaries. Curated by art faculty member Devon Smither and past recipient Angeline Simon, the exhibition includes a selection of works in a variety of styles and approaches as the artists explore themes connected to travel and exploration, both physical and psychological.

The exhibition includes photographs and multi-media work by award recipients William Austin (2015/2016), Morgan Bath (2014/2015), Katie Bruce (2010/2011), Lana Gabor (2005/2006), Jamie Girodat (2014/2015), Amornthep Jaidee (2008/2009), Nicole Lalonde (2011/2012), Chip McCleary (Dylan Dobbie; 2016/2017), Chris Myhr (2006/2007), Jaime Vedres (2006/2007), Meghan MacWhirter (2016/2017), Evan Peacock (2013/2014), Elena Petzold (2014/2015), Arianna Richardson (2011/2012), Daniel Schrempf (2015/2016), Angeline Simon (2015/2016), Kasia Sosnowski (2012/2013) and Corrine Thiessen (2007/2008).

The Penny Gallery in the Dr. Foster James Penny Building is open to the public Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The opening reception, 7 to 9 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 15, is free and everyone is welcome.

Media are invited to a sneak peek of Aperture on Wednesday, September 13 from 10 to 11 a.m. at the Penny Gallery. Curators Devon Smither and Angeline Simon will be on hand to discuss the work during the installation process.