

For immediate release — Tuesday, May 27, 2025

## University eager to recognize accomplishments of graduating class at Spring 2025 Convocation

This week, the University of Lethbridge will recognize the accomplishments of 1,372 students as they celebrate Spring 2025 Convocation.

"It is our great pleasure to welcome families and friends of our graduates to the University to celebrate this important moment in their lives," says ULethbridge President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Digvir Jayas. "They have all experienced tremendous growth throughout their academic journeys, expanding their world view through their studies and the many new relationships they have made. It's important for our graduates to come together and reflect on all that they have accomplished and thank those who have supported them along the way. We are excited for the future that awaits and the significant contributions they will make to their communities in the years ahead."

Spring 2025 Convocation ceremonies take place Thursday, May 29 and Friday, May 30 at the Centre for Sport and Wellness, beginning at 9 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. each day.

All four ceremonies are free of charge and open to the public and media. Following is the convocation schedule for the week.

## Thursday, May 29

**Ceremony I — 9 a.m.** — School of Graduate Studies (MSc); Faculty of Arts & Science (BASc, BSc); Honorary Degree: David Robertson; Speaker Research Award: Dr. Rob McDonald

**Ceremony II — 2:30 p.m.** — School of Graduate Studies (MA, MN); Faculty of Arts & Science (BA); Faculty of Health Sciences (BHSc, BN, BTR); Honorary Degree: Charles Weaselhead; Volunteer Award: Laden Yousef

<u>Chancellor's Dinner</u> — 6 p.m., Science Commons Atrium — A dinner to honour all award recipients, including those who will receive their awards at Fall 2025 Convocation.

The fall awardees include honorary degree recipients Bernadine and Toby Boulet, as well as Excellence in Teaching Award winner Jennifer Burke.

## Friday, May 30

**Ceremony III — 9 a.m.** — School of Graduate Studies (PhD, MC, MEd, MFA, MMus); Faculty of Education (BEd); Combined Degrees with Education; Faculty of Fine Arts (all programs); Honorary Degree: Kirk Muspratt; Board of Governors Teaching Chair: Dr. Aaron Taylor

**Ceremony IV** — **2:30 p.m.** — School of Graduate Studies (MHSM, MSc (Mgt)); Dhillon School of Business (all programs); Combined Degrees with Management; Honorary Degree: Brent Butt; Graduate Mentorship Award: Dr. Stacey Wetmore

Media representatives wishing to interview any of the honorary degree recipients or award winners are invited to the Platform Party staging area (A610, room at back of Urban Market cafeteria) at the following times:

Speaker Research Award – <u>Dr. Rob McDonald</u> – Thursday, May 29, at 8 a.m.

Honorary Degree — <u>David Robertson</u> — Thursday, May 29, at 8 a.m.

University of Lethbridge Volunteer Award — <u>Laden Yousef</u> — Thursday, May 29, at 1:30 p.m.

Honorary Degree — <u>Charles Weaselhead</u> — Thursday, May 29, at 1:30 p.m.

Board of Governors Teaching Chair – <u>Dr. Aaron Taylor</u> – Friday, May 30, at 8 a.m.

Honorary Degree — <u>Kirk Muspratt</u> — Friday, May 30, at 8 a.m.

Graduate Mentorship Award — <u>Dr. Stacey Wetmore</u> — Friday, May 30, at 1:30 p.m.

Honorary Degree – <u>Brent Butt</u> – Friday, May 30, at 1:30 p.m.

\* Additional interview opportunities are available following the conclusion of each ceremony (approximately 11:15 a.m. for morning ceremonies and 4:30 p.m. for afternoon ceremonies). Due to time constraints, there is **NO AVAILABILITY FOR THE CONVOCATION ORGANIZING TEAM PRIOR TO CEREMONIES**.

Graduands and platform guests will be assembling in University Hall, Level 6, prior to each procession. Processions begin at 8:50 a.m. and 2:20 p.m.

For complete Spring 2025 Convocation information, please visit <u>ulethbridge.ca/convocation</u>.

-- 30 --

Contact:

Trevor Kenney, Manager of Public Affairs 403-329-2710 403-360-7639 (cell) trevor.kenney@uleth.ca @ULethbridge

Our University's Blackfoot name is Iniskim, meaning Sacred Buffalo Stone. The University is located in traditional Blackfoot Confederacy territory. We honour the Blackfoot people and their traditional ways of knowing in caring for this land, as well as all Indigenous Peoples who have helped shape and continue to strengthen our University community.