

2025 Canadian Council of Deans of Science



University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, Alberta Science Commons May 14-16, 2025



Canadian Council of Deans of Science
Conseil canadien des doyens et doyennes de sciences

Please note: All activities are held in the Science Commons Atrium (7th floor) unless otherwise stated.



Wednesday, May 14, 2025

Field Trip

7 a.m. - 4 p.m.

5:30-6:30 p.m.

6-6:30 p.m.

6:30-8:30 p.m.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites, Waterton Lakes National Park and Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump

Registration

>

>

Attendees register and receive program information

Welcome Reception

Connect with leaders in science from across Canadian universities

Dinner & Keynote Session I

Dr. Bonnie Schmidt, CM, FRSC, Founder and President, Let's Talk Science







Thursday, May 15, 2025

Breakfast

7:30-8:15 a.m.

Iniskim Ceremonial Welcome | SA8001

8:20-9 a.m.

Terry Whitehead, Chancellor, ULethbridge; Dr. Leroy Little Bear, Vice-Provost, Iniskim Indigenous Relations, ULethbridge; Deborah Lucas, Vice-President Finance & Administration, ULethbridge; Dr. Melike Schalomon, Dean, MacEwan University and CCDS President; Dean Matthew Letts, ULethbridge

Science Funding & Policy Advocacy | SA8001 9:05-9:55 a.m.



 $\mathbf{\Sigma}$

Dr. Kristin Baetz, Dean, UCalgary; Christine Murray, Agriculture, Bioeconomy and Clean Energy expert, and Greg Anderson, Dean, Thompson Rivers University

Coffee Break

9:55-10:15 a.m.

Innovation in Science Research & Education | SA8001

10:15-11:10 a.m.

Cal Koskowich, P.Eng., Industrial Technology Advisor, NRC, Dr. Jackie Rice, Associate Vice-President Research and Dean of School of Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Affairs, ULethbridge, and Perry Stein, Manager of Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships at the City of Lethbridge

Science Communication Workshop | SA8001 11:15 a.m.-12:10 p.m.



Rhonda Moore, Executive Director, Science and Innovation, Institute on Governance



Thursday, May 15, 2025

Lunch

 $\boldsymbol{\Sigma}$

>

12:15-1:30 p.m.

Optional Science Commons Tour at 12:45 p.m.

Science, Technology & Economic Growth | SA8001 1:30-2:25 p.m.

Bryan Helfenbaum, Vice President, Clean Energy, Alberta Innovates; Dr. Mark Lagacé, Director of Programs, Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI); and Dr. Henry Ling, Vice President, MITACS

Coffee Break

2:30-3 p.m.

NSERC and CIHR Update/Discussion | SA8001 **3-3:45 p.m.**

Dr. Sarah Overington, Director, Discovery Research & Recognition

Inquiry-based Learning & Recruitment | SA8001 4-4:45 p.m.

William (Bill) Nelson, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning, Queen's University; Dr. Jenn Stephenson, Associate Dean, Studies, Queen's University

Banquet Dinner & Keynote Session II

6:30-8:30 p.m.

Dr. Paul Smith, Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics





Friday, May 16, 2025

Breakfast

 \sum

 $\boldsymbol{\Sigma}$

7:30-8:30 a.m.

Moving towards belonging during times of
great polarization | SA80018:30-9:25 a.m.

Martha Mathurin-Moe, Vice-Provost, Accessibility, Belonging & Community, ULethbridge

Core Research Facilities and Makerspaces | SA8001

9:30-10:15 a.m.

Dr. Erasmus Okine, Provost & VPA Emeritus / VPR Emeritus, ULethbridge; David Hinger, Executive Director, Teaching Centre, ULethbridge; Tony Montina, Director, Science Operations, ULethbridge; Dr. Laura Keffer-Wilkes, Instructor III and Director, Synbridge, ULethbridge

Coffee Break

10:15-10:45 a.m.

Science and Society | SA8001

10:50-11:30 a.m.

 \diamond

Dr. Brian Mark, Dean, UManitoba and Dr. Robbin Gibb, Professor, CCBN, ULethbridge

Lunch

11:45 a.m.-12:25 p.m.

CCDS Annual Business Meeting | SA8003 12:30-2 p.m.



Dr. Melike Schalomon, Dean, MacEwan University and CCDS President

