

Scholarships and Student Finance Anderson Hall 115 403.329.2585 awards@uleth.ca

Student Awards Committee Annual Report to General Faculties Council

The Student Awards Committee delivered all meetings via Zoom (on-line). The committee met on the following dates during the period of July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023:

September 15, 2022, (Zoom on-line)
October 13, 2022 (Zoom on-line)
November 30, 2022 (Zoom on-line vote)
December 15, 2022 (on-line vote)
January 12, 2023 (Zoom on-line)

March 9, 2023 (Zoom on-line) April 20, 2023 (Zoom on-line) May 11, 2023 (Zoom on-line June 15, 2023 (Zoom on-line)

Quorum was met at all meetings.

Members: Natasha Buis Deering (Chair); Mark Slomp (*Ex Officio* Member); Kathleen Massey (*Ex Officio* Member); Chelsea Sherbut (*Ex Officio* Member); Erica Scott (*Ex Officio* Member); Michaela Schultchen (*Ex Officio* Member); Tina Olson (*Ex Officio* Member); Marie Matkin & Kim Brigitzer (*Ex Officio* Member); Deirdre Coburn (*Ex Officio* Member); Danny Balderson (*Ex Officio* Member); Julia Wasilewski & David Smith (*Ex Officio* Member); James Dobbie (Academic Member nominated by GFC); Marcus Dostie & Hadi Kharaghani (Academic Member nominated by GFC); Juanita Devos & Yewoe. Sackey-Forson (Undergraduate student); Jessica Martin & Wezi. Mutambo (Undergraduate Student); Yamin Raza & Jade Oldfield (Graduate student); Rebecca Gray & Shawn Coburn (Secretary, non-voting)

Meeting Overviews:

Discussed items of information:

- Alberta Scholarships Program nominated awards call for volunteers for scholarship committees throughout the year
- Activity of the Scholarships and Student Finance office which pertains to the UofL Awards program
 i.e., off cycle awards, administrative overview
 Items for action:
 - Review and approval of **35** new award terms of reference
 - Review and approval of revisions for 8 existing awards
 - Presentation and approval of recipients for Gold Medal, Medals of Merit (Graduate), Governor General of Canada Medal

All Student Award Committee meeting minutes are on file at the Scholarships and Student Finance office.

Respectfully submitted by: Student Awards Committee August 2023

Natasha Buis Dearing