

# YISSISIY

(listen)

A THEATRICAL COLLECTION OF STORIES AND REFLECTIONS
ABOUT THIS LAND AND ITS HISTORY CREATED BY A CIRCLE OF
ARTISTS FROM MAKING TREATY 7 AND STUDENTS FROM
THE UNIVERSITY OF LETHBRIDGE.

NOVEMBER 6, 7, 9 & 10 | 7:30 PM UNIVERSITY OF LETHBRIDGE THEATRE

AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE AVAILABLE NOVEMBER 7
DESCRIBED AUDIO AVAILABLE NOVEMBER 9

ULETHBRIDGE.CA/TICKETS

## YISSTSIIYI

By Caleigh Crow, Neil Fleming, and Marshall Vielle with contributions from Drama 3850 Sharing Stories: Indigenous Theatre Creation with Making Treaty 7

## Creative Team

Directors: Caleigh Crow & Marshall Vielle

Set & Lighting Design: Dave Smith Costume Design: Jolane Houle

Sound Design: Nic Sherman

Project Initiator & Facilitator: Shelley Scott

Intimacy Coach: Brianna Johnston Music Consultant: Andi Roberts

### Cast

Tracy: Tracy Weasel Moccasin

Skywoman: Stephanie Brave Rock

Tammy: Rachel CrowSpreadingWings

Kim: Nikko Hunt

Jess: Naima Young Pine

Artie: Mija Scott

Ronnie: Rebecca Dudgeon

Marmot: Morgan Hill

Buffalo Runner: Jesse Thibert Bear Child

## Band

Stephanie Brave Rock Sacha Crow Connor McCaughtrie

This production runs approximately 80 minutes with no intermission.

## **Production Crew**

Production Manager Betty Hushlak
Stage Manager Jackson Paquette
Assistant Stage Manager Nicole Oscar

Andreas Marinakos

Set Technician Dan Pottage, Cole Howg

Stage Coordinator D.A. Smurlick
Head Scenic Carpenter Arlene Curran
Paint Lead Hannah Bourque

Lighting Technician Shawn Bussey, Quang Pham

George Crawford, Emily Sharp Autumn Adrian, Sara Taggart

Xavier Michaud Molly Lewis-Russell

Head Sound TechnicianKelly RobertsHead ElectricianMike Takats

Head of Wardrobe Teasha Doerkson
Costume/Properties Technician Patricia Jonzon
Costume Shop Technician Lynn Hopkins

Costume Technician Charley Frost, Nikko Hunt

Madeline Hvingelby

Scenic & Properties Assistant Jennifer Hare
Properties Technician Terek Jonzon
Dresser, Hair & Makeup Teasha Doerkson

Noah Hirlehey

Running Crew KC Chase

Mirielle Nieuwenhuis

On Deck Audio
Sound Console Operator
Lighting Console Operator
Projection Technician/Operator
Painting for the Poster Image
Stage Management Mentor

Avry Cook
Kacie Hilliard
Tatyanna Stoesz
Jessica Syratt
Davina Saunders
Nicole Oscar

# Message from the Project Initiator – Shelley Scott

Yisstssiiyi (listen) is the result of a unique collaboration between the Drama department and Making Treaty 7 Cultural Society, a professional theatre company based in Calgary devoted to Indigenous-led, settler supported arts and culture; promoting healing by transferring knowledge and culture through the arts. MT7 brought their film *Istotsi* here for a conference of the Canadian Association for Theatre Research in June 2022, and held another screening for the Faculty of Fine Arts in fall of 2022. MT7 offered a workshop with Elders Francis First Charger and Shirlee Crow Shoe during Indigenous Awareness Week in 2023. Then in May of this year, artists and Elders were invited to a three-week course to share their knowledge with a group of ULethbridge students. Land-based learning was experienced at Fort Whoop Up, Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, and Writingon-Stone. Students were invited to write scenes, poems, songs, and reflections about their experiences. From these offerings, MT7 artists Marshall Vielle, Caleigh Crow, and Neil Fleming have written Yisstsiiyi (listen). The Drama department has been deeply honoured to be on this collaborative journey with MT7.

# Territorial Acknowledgement

The University is located on traditional Blackfoot Confederacy territory. We honour the Blackfoot people and their traditional ways of knowing in caring for this land, as well as all Indigenous Peoples who have helped shape and continue to strengthen our University community.

# Special Thanks

Many thanks to everyone who contributed to the course in May: Tracy Weasel Moccasin, Maya Smith, Harley Czech, Jackson Paquette, Desiree Greene, Nic Sherman, Keely Crow Eagle, Robin Walker, Shannon McAlorum, Tobi Bottle, Schyler Tams, Davina Saunders and Andi Roberts.

Amethyst First Rider

Shirlee Crow Shoe

Api'soomaahka William Singer III

Joyce Healy

Harley Bastien

Michelle Thrush, Artistic Director of MT7

The Mootookakio'ssin Team: Josie Mills, Christine Clark, Melissa Shouting, Danielle Heavy Head, Kale Fox-Zacharias

Migueltzinta Solis, Tyler Stewart, and Camina Weasel Moccasin at Fort Whoop-Up

Sandra Lamouche

Olivia Tailfeathers and Stephanie Brave Rock

likaisskini Gathering Place

Karen and Mariam Chief Moon

Going All Out Society: Shanda Webber, Jill Chief Calf, Deserae Yellow Horn, Darrell Daniels, Trent Frank, Verona White Cow.

Office of the Dean of Fine Arts

Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Costume Collective

Char Schow -ASL Interpreter for our Deaf / Low Hearing patrons.

Jacqueline Russell -Audio Description for Blind / Low Vision patrons.

Jude Hope -Good Host Program for Blind / Low Vision patrons.

University of Lethbridge Pronghorn Athletics

The University of Lethbridge Drama Department would like to thank the following sources for providing images and videos for the projections of this production:

Image by 12019 from Pixabay

Image by timtwisted from Pixabay

Image by ELG21 from Pixabay

Image by 12019 from Pixabay

Video by Coverr-Free-Footage from Pixabay

Video by Vimeo-Free-Videos from Pixabay

Video by Mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

Video by JEONGWOO KIM from Pixabay

Video by Jarek Fethke from Pixabay

Video by Mikes-Photography from Pixabay

Video by Lisa Redfern from Pixabay

Video by Myriams-Fotos from Pixabay

Video by Salome from Pixabay

Video by Christian Bodhi from Pixabay

Video by Pixource from Pixabay

Video by Mahmud Moni from Pixabay

Video by Andreas from Pixabay

Video by Coverr-Free-Footage from Pixabay

Video by Seb Agora from Pixabay

Video by NASA-Imagery from Pixabay

Video by Miguel Á. Padriñán from Pixabay

## **Department of Drama Faculty**

Justin A. Blum, PhD Lee Burckes, MFA Jim Dobbin (Calgary Campus), MFA Nicola Elson, MFA Gail Hanrahan, MFA Gabrielle Houle (Adjunct Faculty), PhD Betty Hushlak Doug MacArthur, MFA Greg MacArthur, MFA Deric Olsen (Chair of the Drama Department), MFA Jacqueline Russell, MFA Shelley Scott, PhD Dave Smith, MFA Aaron Taylor, PhD Mia van Leeuwen, MFA Julia Wasilewski, MFA

#### **Professors Emeriti**

Ron Chambers Lisa Doolittle Richard Epp Brian Parkinson Leslie Robison-Greene Sara Stanley

## University Theatre Staff:

Kelly Roberts, BFA
D.A. Smurlick
Mike Takats
Arlene Curran, Journeyman Carpenter
Jennifer Hare, BA Honors
Patricia Jonzon, BFA
Terek Jonzon, BFA
Lynn Hopkins, BFA
Patricia Jonzon, BFA

#### FFA Dean's Office:

Operations Manager:
Amanda Berg, MA
Manager of FA Facilities:
Niall Donaghy, MFA
Admin Assistant:
Sarah Hilliard, BA
Admin Support:
Krystal Ming-Honiwell, MSc
Box Office Coordinator:
Baz Skinner, BA

#### Box Office & Front of House

Caitlin McCaughey Mirielle Niewenhuis Izzy Paige Maddie McKee Indira Brouwer Jesse David Zachery Elser Koyinsola Cline Ahona Sanyal Seth Villamil Mirielle Niewenhuis Maddie McKee Brooke Jenkins