

GFC Standing Committee Report

Committee: Iniskim Education Committee (IEC)

For the Period of July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022

Members:

Committee Chair

Kathleen Massey, Associate Vice-President (Students) & Heather Mirau, Integrated Planning Director [Committee Co-Chairs], designated Co-Chairs for Erasmus Okine, Provost & Vice-President (Academic) ex-officio

Ex-Officio Members

Leroy Little Bear, Distinguished Niitsitapi Scholar designate for Mike Mahon, President & Vice-Chancellor Lindi Shade, Manager of Iikaisskini (Gathering Place)
Charlene Bruised Head-Mountain Horse, Indigenous Student Advisor

One (1) On-Campus Elder Representative (or designate)

Frances First Charger

Two (2) Indigenous Community Representatives (preferably one Blackfoot and one from another Indigenous Community), selected by the Iniskim Education Committee

Shawn Singer, June 30, 2022 Travis Plaited Hair, June 30, 2022

One (1) Aboriginal Alumni Member (or Alternate), selected by the Iniskim Indigenous Alumni Chapter

Mike Bruised Head (Myles Bruised Head), June 30, 2023

One (1) Undergraduate Student (or Alternate) selected by the Students' Union

Nathan Crow (Samantha Scott), April 30, 2023

One (1) Graduate Student (or Alternate) selected by the Graduate Students' Association

Vacant (Lauren Zink), April 30, 2023

Three (3) Academic Staff members, nominated by General Faculties Council Executive Committee and preferably at least one will be First Nations, Metis or Inuit

Andrea Amelinckx, June 30, 2023 Brendan Cummins, June 30, 2023 Inge Genee, June 30, 2022

Two (2) Academic Staff members of Deans' Council, selected by Deans' Council

Shelly Wismath, June 30, 2023 Kerry Godfrey, June 30, 2022

Resource Persons (non-voting):

Jodie Gallais, Director, University Secretariat
Mike Whipple, Director, Office of the President
Roy Weasel Fat, President, Red Crow Community College
Crystal Volk, Administrative Assistant, Associate Vice-President (Students)

Meeting Overview: The IEC met once during the 2021-22 academic year: January 27, 2022.

The IEC focused on the following priorities in 2021-22:

- 1. Proposal for a sustainable Indigenization Iniskim Governance process
 - a. The Governance Process represents the University's strategic priority of Indigenization, reconciliation, and inclusion efforts to increase Indigenous communication capacity at the University of Lethbridge.
 - b. IEC approved the proposal and recommended approval of General Faculties Council (GFC), the Statutory Deans Council, and the Board of Governors. It was subsequently approved by the three bodies.
 - c. As part of the Iniskim Governance Process, Iniskim Advisory Circles/Committees will be created throughout the University for co-creation and guidance of Indigenous programming and initiatives to increase and regularize communication capacity at the University.
- 2. likaisskini Indigenous Services & likaisskini Gathering Centre Location
 - a. likaisskini Indigenous Services Office moved to UHall E620. likaisskini Gathering Space moved to UHall next to Urban Market
- 3. University of Lethbridge Declaration
 - a. Draft declaration will require further review and consultation. This item will also be considered by the Presidential Advisory Committee.

Special Mention and other highlights:

- The new Iniskim Governance Process was presented for information and a vote by members of GFC at its meeting of February 7, 2022. The following recommendations were made:
 - 1)That GFC accept for information the Iniskim Education Committee approval of the proposed Sustainable Indigenization Iniskim Governance Process.
 - o 2)That GFC establish an Iniskim Academic Advisory Committee.
- The motion was carried.
- The work of the Iniskim Governance Process Committees, including that of the Iniskim Academic Advisory
 Committee, will supersede and replace the work of the GFC Iniskim Education Committee (IEC). GFC has
 not explicitly voted to retire the IEC yet, but its ongoing role and existence will need to be clarified in
 2022-2023.

Submitted to General Faculties Council with respect,

Kathleen Massey
Associate Vice President (Students)

Student Affairs

Co-Chair of the Iniskim Education Committee

framy.

Heather Mirau

Integrated Planning Director

Indigenous Affairs/Provost's Office

Heather Threen

Co-Chair of the Iniskim Education Committee