

Scholarships and Student Finance Anderson Hall 115 403.329.2585 awards@uleth.ca

## Student Awards Committee Annual Report to General Faculties Council

Due to the global pandemic The Student Awards Committee did not meet in-person but did meet via Zoom on several occasions, however the majority of votes for Terms of Reference were conducted through an on-line voting system (SharePoint) for the period of September 2021 through to August 2022:

September 28, 2021 (Zoom on-line) October 29, 2021 (on-line vote) December 15, 2021 (on-line vote) April 4, 2022 (on-line vote) April 13, 2022 (on-line vote) May 4, 2022 (on-line vote) June 14, 2022 (Zoom on-line)

Quorum was met at all meetings.

**Members:** Natasha Buis Deering (Chair); Mark Slomp (*Ex Officio* Member); Kathleen Massey (*Ex Officio* Member); Chelsea Sherbut (*Ex Officio* Member); Kierian Turner (*Ex Officio* Member); Michaela Thompson (*Ex Officio* Member); Jennifer McArthur (*Ex Officio* Member); Marie Matkin (*Ex Officio* Member); Deirdre Coburn (*Ex Officio* Member); Danny Balderson (*Ex Officio* Member); Julia Wasilewski (*Ex Officio* Member); James Dobbie (Academic Member nominated by GFC); Marcus Dostie (Academic Member nominated by GFC); Juanita Devos (Undergraduate student); Rebecca Parkkari/Jessica Martin (Undergraduate Student); Yamin Raza (Graduate student); Rebecca Gray (Secretary, non-voting).

## **Meeting Overviews:**

Discussed items of information:

- Alberta Scholarships Program nominated awards calls for volunteers for scholarship committees throughout the year
- Activity of the Scholarships and Student Finance office of which pertains to the UofL Awards program i.e., off cycle awards, administrative overview

Items for action:

- Review and approval of 20 new award terms of reference
- Review and approval of revisions for **4** existing awards
- Presentation and approval of recipients for Gold Medal, Medals of Merit (Graduate), Governor General of Canada Medal

All Student Award Committee meeting minutes are on file at the Scholarships and Student Finance office. Respectfully submitted by: Student Awards Committee

August 2022

Natocho Brio Dearny

Natasha Buis Deering, Executive Director SEM & Registrar