COVID-19 resources | Our faculty and staff are committed to providing you an exceptional learning experience this September.

The Weston Family Awards in Northern Research

The Weston Family Awards in Northern Research

Since 2007, The Weston Family Awards in Northern Research (previously The W. Garfield Weston Awards in Northern Research) have provided unparalleled support to young scientists in Canada pursuing research in Canada’s North. Funded by The W. Garfield Weston Foundation, these annual awards are some of the most prestigious in the country for students pursuing a master’s degree, PhD or postdoctoral fellowship. Over 270 early-career researchers have been selected to receive an award since the program’s inception, forming a community of Weston Family Northern Scientists who are at the forefront of northern scholarship and who are helping shape a better future for Canada and the world.

Weston Family Award winners undertake research projects across a broad spectrum of fields and disciplines in the natural sciences, including studies of northern ecosystems, biodiversity, flora and fauna, meteorology, oceanography, glaciology, geography and environmental studies.

Application deadline is 5:00 p.m. EST on Monday, January 20, 2020

All applications should be submitted through the Scholarship Partners Canada (SPC) online portal

Agency Name: 
The W. Garfield Weston Foundation
Contact Name: 
Angela Rosenau
Grant Amount: 
In the 2020-2021 program year, The W. Garfield Weston Foundation will aim to support up to four (4) awards for postdoctoral fellows. Each award is valued at $100,000 over two (2) years, with funding in the second year contingent upon acceptable progress in the proposed area of research in the first year. Successful award winners will also be provided with up to $10,000 per year to support travel related to conferences and scientific meetings, research materials, and fieldwork.
Grant Location: 
External Deadline: 
Monday, January 20, 2020
Internal Deadline: 
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Grant Type: 
Grant Area: 
Natural Science
Grant Eligibility: