Modern Languages Association (MLA) Honors and Awards

Anyone may nominate a book for an MLA prize, but the author or publisher is responsible for sending the required number of copies, noted in the main list, to the MLA office before the deadline. An author who is not a member of the MLA at the time of publication may become eligible to compete by joining the association before the deadline for the prize for which they are competing. 

Unless otherwise noted, “literary studies” encompasses works of literary history, literary criticism, philology, and literary theory, as well as works dealing with literature and other arts and disciplines. Translations are eligible only for the three awards specifically devoted to that category.

For detailed announcements of these awards, click on the prize name or call or write the MLA, 85 Broad Street, suite 500, New York, NY 10004-2434 (646 576-5141; fax: 646 458-0030;


Agency Name: 
Modern Languages Association (MLA)
Contact Name: 
Hector MacIntyre
Grant Amount: 
The award, which consists of a cash award and a certificate, will be presented to the winning author at the association’s annual convention the following January
Grant Location: 
Grant Type: 
Grant Area: 
Social Science
Fine Arts
Grant Eligibility: