

## Announcing: **THE BRIDGE PRIZE: A NATIONAL SHORT STORY AWARD**

The Bridge Prize celebrates excellence in short story fiction writing at the post-secondary level in Canada.

Beginning in 2020, and in alternating years for the next decade, the Bridge Prize intends to inspire and motivate the next generation of Canadian literary artists as they transition to careers as professional writers. The Bridge Prize is presented by the School of Liberal Education at the University of Lethbridge.

The Bridge Prize Jury



**( ( ( )** 

Thomas King Author (Head Juror)



Shelly Ambrose Executive Director, The Walrus



Charles Demers Author



Leslie Hurtig Artistic Director, Vancouver Writers Fest



Aritha van Herk Author

The top prize: **\$7,500** Three additional finalists: **\$1,000** Each winning author will also receive a **\$200 gift card** courtesy of Munro's Books. Submit your short story today!

Submission Deadline: January 20, 2020

go.uleth.ca/thebridgeprize

The founder and lead donor of The Bridge Prize is Terry Whitehead, a Vancouver-based alumnus of the University of Lethbridge.

The Bridge Prize Corporate Partners:

**WALRUS** CANADA'S CONVERSATION

۲





