

GFC Standing Committee Report

Committee: Student Awards Committee

For the Period of September 1, 2020 – August 31, 2021

Members:

Mark Slomp (*Chair*) Chelsea Sherbut (*Ex Officio* Member) Kristie Masuda (*Ex Officio* Member) Marie Matkin (*Ex Officio* Member) Danny Balderson (*Ex Officio* Member) Marcus Dostie (Academic Member nominated by GFC) Richard Lee-Thai/Liam Connel (Undergraduate student) Abrar Darda/Lauren Zink (Graduate student) Kathleen Massey (*Ex Officio* Member) Sue Kovach (*Ex Officio* Member) Jennifer McArthur (*Ex Officio* Member) Deirdre Coburn (*Ex Officio* Member) Erin Kennett (*Ex Officio* Member) Sharon Pelech (Academic Member nominated by GFC) Madi Ing (Undergraduate Student) Rebecca Gray (Secretary, non-voting)

Meeting Overview:

Due to the global pandemic The Student Awards Committee were able to conduct six meetings, four of which were in-person meetings via Zoom and two were on-line votes via Share Point:

September 25, 2020 (Zoom on-line) November 30, 2020 (Zoom on-line) January 29, 2021 (on-line vote) *Quorum was met at all meetings. February 26, 2021 (on-line vote) April 29, 2021 (Zoom on-line) May 12, 2021 Gold medal (Zoom on-line)

Discussed items of information:

- Alberta Scholarships Program nominated awards calls for volunteers for scholarship committees throughout the year
- Activity of the Scholarships and Student Finance office of which pertains to the UofL Awards program i.e. off cycle awards, administrative overview

Items for action:

- Review and approval of 8 new award terms of reference
- Review and approval of revisions for 21 existing awards
- Presentation and approval of recipients for Gold Medal, Medals of Merit (Graduate), Governor General of Canada Medal

Special Mention

All Student Award Committee meeting minutes are on file at the Scholarships and Student Finance office.

Respectfully submitted by: Student Awards Committee August 16, 2021

Chair: Mark Slomp