Coordinating Council for Women in History Awards and Prizes

The CCWH offers the six awards to help reach its organizational goals. The deadline for receipt of all 2017 applications is May 15, 2017.

  • Carol Gold Article Award – a $500 prize given to the best article published in a peer-reviewed journal in the year prior to the award year.
  • Catherine Prelinger Award – a $20,000 award to a scholar whose career has not followed a traditional path through secondary and higher education and whose work has contributed to women in the historical profession.
  • CCWH/Berks Graduate Student Fellowship – a $1,000 award to a graduate student completing a dissertation in a history department.
  • Ida B. Wells Graduate Student Fellowship – a $1000  annual award given to a graduate student working on a historical dissertation that interrogates race and gender, not ecessarily in a history department.
  • Joan Kelly Memorial Prize – a $1,000 annual award for the book in women’s history and/or feminist theory that best reflects the high intellectual and scholarly ideals exemplified by the life and work of Joan Kelly (1928-1982).
  • Nupur Chaudhuri First Article Prize –  a $1,000 award for the first article published in a referred journal by a CCWH member.
Agency Name: 
Coordinating Council for Women in History
Contact Name: 
Hector MacIntyre
Grant Location: 
External Deadline: 
Monday, May 15, 2017
Grant Type: 
Grant Area: 
Social Science
Fine Arts
Grant Eligibility: